

Deputy Premier Office of the Minister MLA, Edmonton-Glenora

AUG 1 0 2017

Serena Sjodin Executive Director 4419-52 Avenue Lloydminster Alberta T9V 0Y8

Dear Serena Sjodin:

Thank you for your letter regarding the recent policy resolution passed by the Lloydminster Chamber of Commerce regarding health care funding for Lloydminster. I appreciate the time you took to write.

The Government of Alberta will continue to work within the terms of our Memorandum of Understanding with the Government in Saskatchewan, signed in July 2014, to improve health service delivery in the Lloydminster area. Since the Bi-Provincial Committee structure was established, our partners on the Committee, including the Government of Saskatchewan, Alberta Health Services and Prairie North Regional Health Authority (PNRHA) have been meeting to understand issues and work towards improving health service delivery in PNRHA.

Through the Bi-Provincial Committee, a review of the capital needs and maintenance funding for the health facilities are underway. Unfortunately, the processes for the identification, prioritization and approvals are different between the jurisdictions. With the representation of each stakeholder working together, a process is currently being developed to support both capital and maintenance needs for the Lloydminster community.

Please be aware that progress has been made in a number of areas identified in the Bi-Provincial Health Services Area assessment including, but not limited to:

- Providing access to Alberta's electronic health record, Netcare, to the Lloydminster Hospital, and now being expanded to community providers; and
- Building 44 supportive living beds at the Pioneer House Lodge, which is net new capacity and planned for opening in June 2017.

In closing, we are committed to working with Saskatchewan Health as they transition to a single health authority, and continue working through this partnership to address the health service needs of the citizens of Lloydminster.

.../2

AR144770

Printed on recycled paper

⁴²³ Legislature Building, 10800 - 97 Avenue, Edmonton, Alberta T5K 2B6 Canada Telephone 780-427-3665 Fax 780-415-0961 10996 - 124 Street, Edmonton, Alberta T5M 0H8 Canada Telephone 780-455-7979 Fax 780-455-2197

Serena Sjodin Page 2

Again, thank you for contacting me.

Sincere

Sarah Hoffman Deputy Premier Minister of Health

cc: Honourable Jim Reiter, Minister of Health, Government of Saskatchewan Carl Amrhein, Deputy Minister, Alberta Health Kathleen Ness, Assistant Deputy Minister, Health Service Delivery, Alberta Health Tracey Smith, Assistant Deputy Minister, Government of Saskatchewan