## Access to Net Care in Alberta by Saskatchewan Clinics in Lloydminster

Renewed 2019

## **ISSUE:**

Although the hospital in Lloydminster has access to Net Care (online patient records) in Alberta, the clinics on the Saskatchewan side of the border do not have access to Net Care, and this poses a problem with information sharing between hospitals and treatment centers in the provinces.

## **BACKGROUND:**

Because Lloydminster is situated on the border of Alberta and Saskatchewan, for many years there have been major issues around health care in Lloydminster. One of the issues is the sharing of patient information online between Alberta health care professionals and Saskatchewan health care professionals.

This does cause dangerous and life-threatening situations if the local health care professionals and referral center providers have no way to access that pertinent information that is imperative for appropriate treatment. Often tests need to be repeated causing delays in treatment and costs to the health care system.

In 2012, a committee was formed with local government, community members, and representatives from both Alberta and Saskatchewan government's health departments to consider ways to make health care in Lloydminster more streamlined and patient centered. A memorandum of understanding was signed by the then health ministers of Alberta and Saskatchewan. One of the items agreed upon by this committee was that the cross-border accessibility of patient files was imperative. Otherwise, it puts the citizens of Lloydminster and surrounding area at risk. Although these individuals pay the same tax dollars to their respective provincial governments, they continue to receive sub-standard health care. The appropriate sharing of information would be an initial step to solve this issue.

## **RESOLUTION:**

The Lloydminster Chamber of Commerce advocates to the City of Lloydminster, the Government of Alberta, and the Government of Saskatchewan for the immediate resolution to patient data sharing issues between the provinces of Alberta and Saskatchewan.